Twitter has announced a new feature for its Verified users. For those unfamiliar with the term, a Verified Twitter user is someone who has a blue tick next to their name, which signifies that the account belongs to, or is run by, the person or organisation that the account claims to be. This is a mechanism employed by Twitter to counteract hoax accounts and false ‘news’ being spread. This typically applies to celebrities, politicians, well-known companies, publications, sports teams and so forth.
As you can imagine, popular users and accounts will receive an awful lot of interaction from their many followers, and filtering out the messages from people that they actually know or want to hear from can be very difficult. So Twitter has now come up with a way for users with Verified accounts to view their Mentions in three different categories: All, Filtered and Verified.
All is fairly self-explanatory, while Verified will only show mentions that have come from other Verified users. A VIP lounge of tweets if you will. The Filtered view is less black and white, and according to Product Manager Ed Gutman, will only show a Verified user posts “based on an algorithm we use to filter out spam.” These algorithms are rarely perfect, so it’s fair to assume that some spam posts will continue to slip through the net, while some genuine messages will be unlawfully thrown on the scrap heap.
The different views for Verified users can be found in the Connect tab, where all users find their interactions with other Twitter users. At this stage the new feature is only available on the web version of the app, however Ed Gutman did say on the Twitter blog that there are plans to bring it to mobile at some point in the future.