Tag Archives: using socialsafe

Latest digi.me update includes Flickr support

Digi.me has just got even better, with the launch of a new version that introduces some exciting updates while keeping all of the other brilliant features you already know and love.

The story of you can now be even more complete, as the new version (7.0.8 for those of you keeping track) now syncs with Flickr as well as all the existing platforms, which include Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest and Google+.

There is also an option to add personal entries and photos direct to the library, without posting them on any social media platforms first, making digi.me the fullest library of your life and loves to date.

So what new features can you now add to your personal story?

  • Personal entries: add private posts and attach photos from your computer to your digi.me library. These can be organised into collections and are searchable

  • Flickr: Pull your Flickr photos, albums and favs into your digi.me library. As with other sources, you’ll get comments and favs counts on your photos too

  • Instagram: view, search and export your liked Instagram photos

  • Facebook Events: search, view and export events you’ve attended or been invited to

  • Facebook comments now have links attachments included

  • Backups: a simplified view of your backup entries. The journal was getting very busy, so we’ve tidied these summaries up. You’ll see a summary bar at the bottom of every day you synced your sources and can then click on this to see the breakdown.

And, of course, we’ve improved performance where we can, meaning the app now runs smoother than ever.

Any thoughts or questions about the new release? Feel free to get in touch either in the comments or over on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or LinkedIn – and don’t forget to vote for what you’d like to see added to the app next!

Finally, don’t forget that your data will always belong to you. That’s why it’s downloaded directly to your computer for your enjoyment and use – we never see it.

How Well Do You Know Your Way Around Your Data?

As we continue to make improvements and add new features to SocialSafe, there are more ways to view and do more with the content backed up within your library. We’ve put together a video showing you the main ways to interact with your content and how to find particular items.

While this video is primarily aimed at new users who have just installed SocialSafe for the first time, this video should help anyone that has been with us for a while and who may not have fully explored all of the features of SocialSafe:

We’ll be continuing to make more of these videos over the coming weeks and months, and would really appreciate any feedback you have so that we can make them as helpful as possible to you, the users. Feel free to let us know what you think about the videos, or anything else we do, by contacting us on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn or Google+.

Download Your Tagged Facebook Photos Before Your Friends Remove Them

We received a support email overnight asking a question about downloading tagged Facebook photos, and thought that it was a topic worth quickly writing a blog about.

The query was whether or not SocialSafe can download photos you are tagged in (that aren’t your own), even after the uploader has deleted them from Facebook. The answer is unfortunately ‘no’, although this is nothing to do with SocialSafe, but is in fact down to Facebook’s API, which determines what can lawfully be seen, accessed and downloaded.

Having said that, if you have already used SocialSafe to download your tagged photos from Facebook and then the user removes them from Facebook or deactivates their account, then you will still have a copy of them – along with any comments, likes and tags – safely stored in your SocialSafe library.

The same goes for all of the other content that you back up with SocialSafe – should anything happen to the originals on the networks themselves, if you’ve backed it up to your SocialSafe library then it will be yours to keep forever.

With social network profiles coming under increasing scrutiny when people are applying for jobs and even if the content depicts harmless fun, when viewed out of context by someone else it could mean the difference between landing that dream job or not. So understandably people are purging their social accounts of content, but this can have a collateral affect on their friends’ online memories too.

If you don’t want to run the risk of losing any of the moments from your past that make you you, then use SocialSafe to download your own library of you from your social networks, and make sure that you are the one who has ownership of your data.

VIDEO – Automatic Backups Using The SocialSafe Scheduler

We recently made some improvements to the Scheduler within SocialSafe, which gives users greater control over how and when they use the app to download new content from their social network accounts.

By using the Scheduler, users can set SocialSafe to sync automatically at given times throughout the day or week. The app doesn’t even need to be open, and will run in the background, as not to disturb you. The Scheduler can be accessed via the Settings menu found in the bottom corner on SocialSafe, and is easy to set up. We made a short video showing you how this works:

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Guj5TDWNZIk align’center’]

The Scheduler offers a great deal of choice in terms of how often you’d like SocialSafe to automatically sync, with a time range between schedule syncs being anything from an hour to a week.

There are also plenty of options in between, as you’ll see in the video. The Daily setting allows you to set SocialSafe to run at up to five different times during the day, without having to set it to the Hourly setting. The Weekly setting also allows you to set SocialSafe to run as seldom as once a week, or up to five different times throughout the week.

This all runs in the background and should provide you all with enough flexibility to set your SocialSafe to sync at a time convenient to you, without you having to remember to open the app each time. Of course your machine will still need to be on and connected to the internet for SocialSafe to be able to download any new content from your networks.

You can also choose to be shown your most popular content after SocialSafe has finished a sync, and this simply takes you to the Insights part of the app, which you should already be familiar with.

If you have any questions about the Scheduler, please leave a comment below, or find us on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ or LinkedIn.